A photo a day – St Crispin’s day

Any of you who know Henry V by Shakespeare will remember the rather wonderful St Crispin’s Day Speech. I know it from the 1944 Laurence Olivier film of the same name. Well today is St Crispin’s day and so I am reminded that the English not only won at Agincourt in 1415 but also fought the battle of Balaclava in 1845 which is chiefly remembered by me through  Alfred, Lord Tennyson’s poem – The Charge of the Light Brigade.

I only know these things because they were cited in today’s paper. However they soon resonated with a contemporary and local issues as my reading of the paper was disturbed by what sounded like a battle going on outside my house. Police: vans, helicopters, men, women and dogs converged outside and spent a considerable time searching our back gardens.

untitled-1110666

I’m glad to say that they got their man in the end and this shows him being walked across the road to the waiting Police Van. (He’d stolen a car, crash it and gone to ground at the rear of our house).

About Pete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A photo a day – St Crispin’s day

  1. Tanya says:

    Oh my, glad it ended peacefully.

    Like

Leave a comment