A photo a day – my final photography degree assessment submission

Today’s photo is one loaded with meaning for me. I am just packing up all the materials ready to send them to the OCA (link here: The Open College of the Arts) for assessment.  This is my last activity with the College as the assessment concludes my course and will determine if and what class of degree I receive.

There is a lot of material! There are of course photos of various types and sizes, there are essays and reflective accounts and learning logs. My Contents list looks like this:

image

I’ve been studying with the OCA since 2010 and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Maybe that’s why I feel a little equivocal about today: I am immensely happy to have completed the course and be in a position to be awarded a degree this summer (assessment takes place in March with submissions going in from January 15th); but I am a little sad that this experience is over. You would think that the nature of photography and distance learning would mean that its a very individual experience but this is not the case.

There is a rather wonderful little OCA community  here OCA Flickr group where I have been able to enjoy meeting people from around the world who are also on this journey. There feedback and help has been immense and enhanced because a number of tutors also participate. But THE key value of the group is just being there and active and so making me feel as though I am part of something bigger than my own personal journey.

Thus we come to today’s photo. It was taken a little earlier today and just before I began packing everything up to send off.

At one level the photo stands in opposition to my journey as it could be attacked as an image where style rules over substance. I’ve used a Lensbaby and dynamic point of view to present what is simply the cover of an assignment brochure and the assessment advice slip with the OCA logo on it.

But this image isn’t simply spectacle: It’s loaded with 4 years of work, research, insight, new perspectives and awareness as well as technical progression. So in that sense the photo should speak to all those other students who like me, find meaning and solace through art and photography.

So that’s my photo of today. One that represents 1460 days work to be a little more precise and my transition from a photography student to a photographer.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A photo a day – my final photography degree assessment submission

  1. Eileen says:

    The reference to ‘lunch’ in your list still gets me each time – shows where my mind is. I find the picture rather melancholy, as you intend. What next for Pete? Big changes, that’s for certain. Good luck!

    Like

  2. anomiepete says:

    Hey Eileen thanks. I’m enjoying blogging but just 4 years too late!

    Like

Leave a Reply

