A photo a day – unplanned ice cream

As its Sunday morning I had in mind my usual trip around the corner to pick up a paper and thought I would secure today’s photo somewhere along that little trip. The shops are so close I wheel to them rather than drive. But then serendipity stepped in. As part of sorting out my ablutions’  I went into the bedroom to take my urine nightbag into the bathroom for disposal, but, as you can see, was presented with a rather funny vista.

The way the sunlight illuminated the bowl I use to put my nightly rubbish in and in particular the Wall’s Cream of Cornish sign. This, to me anyway, sort of juxtaposed the anticipated pleasure of the ice cream against the daily grind I have to deal with to get up. It made me chuckle inside anyway. It also put me in mind of the Chiaroscuro style in art where the approach is characterized by strong contrasts between light and dark such as in Giovanni Baglione’s Sacred Love Versus Profane Love.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

