A photo a day – vernacular photography

Here is a photo of something/nothing; a photo of an known/unknown place, by an known/unknown person. Some people who see this photo will know me well, others will know me through the internet and others wont know me at all. I think this has profound implications for the reading of the photo.

Those who know me well will recognise Karen’s PC and desk; they will know the shirts are Alex’s. They will also know that just off to the left of the frame and out of sight is my wheelchair lift. Others will not have known these facts until reading this.

Does your reading of the image change because you now know these facts?

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A photo a day – vernacular photography

  1. Catherine says:

    I have more understanding of what I’m seeing but my eyes still want to explore the room and question. In that sense the image remains ‘open’.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Something strange happened today | anomiepete

Leave a Reply

