A photo a day – a tree of happiness

A little tree made me happy today. Those of you that read my posts regularly may recall one of January 28th (link) which was a photo of my home. Here is today’s photo – can you spot the difference?

 

The Local Authority have plated a tree outside of our house. 🙂 This makes me very happy. We used to have a tree on the same spot but it died, and when the Council came to remove it they did not replace it.  We saw this happen to a few trees in our road and assumed it was part of their austerity measures not to replace the trees. Well they have replaced it now and I am glad. I will watch it grow and change as the seasons and years pass.

Trees play an important part in many photos. From the cold black repetitive shapes of Alvin Langdon Coburn’s The Octopus (link) through the stumps of trees in the First World War to Heidi Specker’s focus on tree textures Im Garten (link), and it’s in this light that I photo my little tree – a sign of growth, change and happiness.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A photo a day – a tree of happiness

  1. Catherine says:

    It’s good to see a promise of new growth. Maybe a metaphor for your next adventure into photography?

    Like

  2. Tanya says:

    I have posted trees today too! http://tanyaahmed.com/2014/03/14/ˈfoto-ˈfortˌnit-fride-12/
    Your tree is uplifting, not sure that mine is… but maybe because I have a viral rash and daggers in my throat! Hope you are feeling a bit better today.

    Like

  3. Pingback: A photo a day – a recurring theme | anomiepete

  4. Pingback: A photo a day – my little tree | anomiepete

  5. Pingback: A photo a day – saying goodnight | anomiepete

Leave a Reply

