A photo a day – freedom and movement

I am well on the road to recovery from my recent illness and managed to get out in the car today. Only a little trip but it was nice to drive and generate a feeling of movement.

Cars, roads and speed feature in lots of photographers oeuvres, for example, Robert Leon Demachy’s Speed  taken in 1904 (link) and Paul Graham’s 1983 work Great North Road (link) immediately come to mind. However I think the majority of such images are either contemplations on place and about documenting what the photographer sees rather than expressing what they feel and so are different to my image here.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A photo a day – freedom and movement

  1. Catherine says:

    I keep thinking about this. How much of an image is connected with the words around it as opposed to the image itself?

    Like

    • anomiepete says:

      I don’t think images alone are ever definitive – how can they be? So for me, they are always subject to their context and it’s that which often determines part of the interpretation. If the context happens to include text then the image’s meaning is anchored even further. Yet the words and image are not inextricably linked – take my image above. If I had written about speeding near parks it would have a totally different connotation wouldn’t it?

      Of course, there are some images that have taken on iconic or symbolic status because of their cultural associations – but they are a different class of image aren’t they?

      Most of my images are reflections of me and I think lots of images can be seen that way.

      What do you think your photos say? Are they reflections of you or documents or others?

      Like

Leave a Reply

