A photo a day – gold leaf on paper

I found this fragment of a faux leaf on my floor. I don’t know anything about it. However it took my eye and while working at my desk this morning the sun hit it and drew my interest. I simply placed the leaf on some white paper, made sure I created a deep depth of field and shot.

_1110611

I am pleased with the way the direction of light means that the shadow of the leaf emphasises its structure. It was very tempting to go closer and create an abstract image but that approached lost more than it gained from my point of view. I know this isn’t a forensic photo in the sense that the frame doesn’t include a ruler and fill lighting but would that be any more authentic and truthful to the leaf than this image?

I think the photo owes much more to the likes Edward Weston and his peppers than say Nobuyoshi Araki’s Erotos or Eadweard Muybridge’s horses.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A photo a day – gold leaf on paper

  1. Catherine says:

    A faux leaf on the floor. The detective in me wants to know where it came from but you’ve captured it beautifully!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

