Esther Fox: Distinctive Not Alien

I found this interesting work.  The first thing that caught my eye was the bright colours and pleasing form. It was those features that attracted me and led to my then reading the accompanying paper.

  “These delicate and flawed structures provide a metaphor for the genetic fabric of our being” (Fox, 2015).

This made me view the work slightly differently and the work because even more satisfying.

This art works both as pictures and discourses. It made me think about my own practice. If I can achieve a similar outcome, but without the need for accompanying texts to explain my position I will have succeeded. But Fox’s art works with text and still achieved its aim of drawing me in and working at both levels. Maybe I shouldn’t worry about not having accompanying texts?

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

