A challenge

Will you try to find images representing physical, social or attitudinal aspects of disability that do not show impairments, the body or disability symbols? I’ve tried and failed – almost.

I couldn’t find any images using the term “disabled art”

image

Nor could I find any using the term “social model of disability”

image

Nor could I find  an image using term “disablism” in the search.

image

As you can see most of the images use words symbols or disabled people in the frame. The images using symbols are the best because at the the impaired body isn’t present to dominate. Take this example below.

image

But images without the trigger of the symbol or body rely wholly on the viewer to invest the image with a particular meaning. Take this example below.

untitled-1120383-Edit-Edit

There is nothing too obviously specific to non disabled people to interpret this image as a commentary on the landscape. However the dropped kerb at the bottom of the photo is, in fact a key reason why I took this photo as it’s of my two sons’ new flat. (I was pleased to say that it’s fully accessible).

I am finding it very difficult, to find any art that references the social experience of disability such as the physical landscape without triggering it through inclusion of the body. Maybe it can’t be done? There are lot of disabled artists – see the site for a selection. They work in sound, video, digital, sculpture, in fact all types of media, but I can find none that focus on disability. Rather all the work I have found seems to be focussed on aspects of either impairment or disability people.

Is there really no work at all that represents the physical, social and attitudinal aspects of disability without including references to the body?

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A challenge

  1. schirgwin says:

    I noticed the dip (or registered it, rather) as a place where I could cross the road easily with my 2-year old in her buggy. I have often wondered when a couple of kerb stones were dropped at each corner because I’m sure it wasn’t always like that, but I don’t remember a great program sweeping through the cities.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

