My life’s chair history

Chairs

I do get a bit frustrated with chair manufacturers. When first injured in 1978 I had NHS supplied Everest and Jennings Chairs. They weighed about 53 pounds, flexed like hell and broke every few months.

I then got a Swede 24 chair in 1984 and that transformed my life until 1991 (judging by old photos) when Kushall brought out a chair, but within a 2 years I had moved to Quickie because the Kushall’s frame sheared.

I had the Quickie GPV(?) Titanium until 2004 and it never missed a beat. But then came what I consider to be the Concord of chairs – the Quickie TI. I had this until 2014 and its frame weighed = 4.65KG or 10.25lbs and even with heavy daily use it never caused any problems (although I always had to buy a new back rest each year).

When I came to get a new chair in 2012 as I wanted a shorter frame with a greater 90 degree front angle I could not find any chair maker to meet my wish list of a short chair as light as the old Quickie.

So while I am happy with my Ti Lite ZRA, I am not happy that its frame weighs 7.10 kgs or 15.65 lbs.

It’s good looking at the images of the chairs and seeing how they have changed over the years.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Research and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

