Project 16: which way to face?

I’ve been experimenting with different images appropriated from Coming Home and these two below offer a good representation of what I have been considering.

untitled-1100365bimage

Firstly, and forgetting the subject matter and concentrating for a moment on the aesthetic style, I really like the colour and over exposed effect and think there is a lot of mileage in it because it hints and suggests through a rather surreal dreamlike quality and so not only offers a sort of commentary on my experience and outlook but does so in a warm and natural way. This is much more than a realist approach.

So which way should I face? The problem with the images that don’t show a wheelchair user is that any connotation to do with paralysis will rely on association with other images and or labels. Moreover I have already noted in my research paper that there is a good reason to include some reference to the body in my work as disability doesn’t, no can’t, exist without impairment, and so I will focus on images of the body.

However if I focus on images on the body without reference to the wheelchair I come up against the same problem.  See below.

image

This image provides too wide a connotation – illness? Medical setting? So I am going to stick to imagery of movement of characters using wheelchairs.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Project 16: Movement and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Project 16: which way to face?

  1. I really like the pic of the wheelchair. Well done. Best wishes. Terry

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

