Project 20 Duchamp’s urinal 2016

In part of last Friday’s tutorial, Jonathan mentioned this image below and how things like that sculpture could form part of my exhibition.

image

Jonathan didn’t know what the items were and I explained that the sculpture was made up of three incontinence sheaths that I glue on my penis and three night bag tubes with the bags cut off. There are many different types of sheath: here are two types below.

image

The sheath is glued onto my penis and then connected to a bag to piss in.

image

In the day I wear a bag strapped to my leg and at night one like this below.

image

So I just cut the tubes of three bags and connected them to some sheaths. Below is another version made in the same way. The discussion triggered my spending some time experimenting with my contemporary version of Duchamp’s Fountain.

Mock up
image

Digitally adjusted
image

Above is an image digitally adjusted for colour. However if I am to present such an item in the exhibition then I will need to abandon digital and create something physical. So that’s what I did.

Physical
image

I used acrylic paints and produced this below.

Final sculpture (or to be exact a photo of the final sculpture)untitled-1120540-Edit

I like the photo, but think I prefer the unpainted sculpture as it has a pureness that this above lacks. I enjoyed the process though.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Project 20: Physical and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Project 20 Duchamp’s urinal 2016

  1. Catherine says:

    It looks like a very unusual flower.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Sculpture | anomiepete

Leave a Reply

