Sculpture

Some of you might remember this post well I wanted to make something similar for the exhibition. However rather than just paint the sheaths and tubes I wanted to take the transformation a little further so that the items would engage and confound viewers. Whether or not I have achieved that I do not know. But here is the process and result. (It’s been a great little project where I have been able to do it incrementally over some time).

I began by taking 5 sheaths and night bag tubes and painted the tubes with orange and yellow acrylic paint for texture and undercoat and use a thick heavy blue for texture on the sheaths.

image

I then hung the tubes and used white emulsions and green paints to build up textures on the stems and yellow, blue and red paints on the sheaths for the flowers.

image

imageimageimageimage

I then cut 5 day bag tubes and painted them yellow to make a simulacrum of the centre of the flowers.

image

Here are the completed items prior to adding some varnish.

untitled-1861

I then played around with presentation ideas. This is one I liked where I have juxtoposed the “flowers” against the original items.

untitled-1875-Edit-Edit

Thoughts
While I have enjoyed the process of producing these items I won’t be exhibiting them. I prefer the purity of the originals.

untitled-1120525-Edit

PS. Did I ever post this?

Breathing

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Project 20: Physical and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

