A photo a day – no more chips

I got up and drove the two miles to St Christopher’s Hospice getting there at about 9.15am expecting the usual day of sitting with mum interspersed with tea in the Hospice’s garden. The nurse told me that mum had been a bit distressed in the night and so they had given her some more drugs to help. Mum was being sick so they called the doctor (Nick) and he prescribed some different drugs and the nurses changed mum’s position and within 2o minutes or so and mum was much more calm.

It was clear by mum’s breathing that she didn’t have long and so I called Karen and she alerted Steve, my brother, who came along. So from about 11.30 until 2 o’clock (ish) Steve and I sat with mum holding her hand and chatting. At about 1.50 a nurse brought in a card from Aunty Sheila – mums younger (85!) sister who lives on the Isle of Mann. As Steve read it to mum and I held her hand she quietly – almost imperceptibly – stopped breathing and left us.

After a minute we called a nurse and she confirmed mum had gone. Steve went to pick up dad while the nurses made mum presentable. They did a great job – even taking some of the flowers friends had brought and making a simple little posy and placing that by mum’s face. Then dad and Steve said their goodbyes and Steve took dad home. Once they went I said my goodbye and – as all Mansell’s do – went downstairs and had a large cup of tea and balled my eyes out.

Muriel “Jean” Mansell, January 3rd 1928: August 4th 2014. My mum.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A photo a day – no more chips

  1. Anne says:

    My condolences and best wishes to you and your family Pete
    Anne

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanya says:

    Pete, I am sorry for your loss, please accept our condolences. I am glad that you were able to be with your mum and that your mother’s passing was gentle. Thinking of you all at this sad time of transition.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All my thoughts are going to you and your family today Pete. Best wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. anomiepete says:

    Thanks all. I’m so glad that I am able to express these feelings through the blog and photography – it helps a lot – as does knowing people can relate to my circumstance.

    Like

  5. paul490280 says:

    Condolences to you Pete. You have been making me think of Barthes as you have been photographing your mother – showing a punctum only a loving son could reveal. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vicki M says:

    My thoughts are with you and your family at this time of loss. Thank you for sharing your journey with us. Your mum would have been proud of the way you portrayed her dignity and beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

