A photo a day – subtleties

I’ve been reviewing how I can present landscape imagery in a way that can convey and evoke notions of the social construction of disability. That is how the assumed inevitability of disability due to physiological impairment is flawed because it fails to take account of how society is organised and built around models and norms based on assumptions that everyone walks. If design takes account of my needs then the disabling barrier no longer exists, just the impairment.

Thinking about this in terms of photographs though, my chain of thought moved to how subtle differences in body position can have profound effects on meaning and that lead to my creating some simple images to explore this.

 

Maybe it’s obvious that subtle changes in body positions can have a profound effect on meaning. However thinking about this in terms of impairment – ones ability to communicate effectively though movement and body position is limited and compromised. Maybe that’s why my personality has developed in the way it has – ie loud and can be seen as aggressive – because I have needed to project myself using things other than my body language.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in A Photo a Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A photo a day – subtleties

  1. Vicki M says:

    “subtle changes in body positions can have a profound effect on meaning”—agree, but also have to bear in mind that those subtle changes can be interpreted differently by the viewer—in other words, different from what you intended. In my doll assignment, my tutor saw honesty when I had wished to show vulnerability and a desire to protect myself; and in another he saw a bit of a ‘come-on’ flirtatious when I had intended relaxed and having fun! Guess there is no way one can control how others ‘see’?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

