Transitioning

So I am now near the point where I need to consider how to present my work and then select and refine the imagery in regard of the specific production values to exploit each context’s strengths and weaknesses. For example, consider an exhibition. What does the space look like? How big is it? What is the light like? How much space will I have? All of these factors will affect the choices I make regarding the selection, processing and style of presentation of my images. Moreover different modes of presentation offer different constraints and opportunities.

Therefore I now need to decide what those outputs should be and what the implications are for my decision. It seems to me that my choices are fourfold. That is the mechanism by which I show, and people view, my work will be via one of the following methods.

  • Online
  • Video
  • Prints
  • Book
  • Other media

Each type of output appears to me to have strengths and weaknesses; so let me look at each of these in turn.

Online
Almost all of this course has been an online experience. I have Skyped, blogged and presented my semi finalised project images on a dedicated website. Moreover given that this form of showing work reaches the widest audience and is free it seems an obvious and natural decision to continue to use an online platform to show my work. Accordingly I will need to establish a dedicated website that orientates the viewer to images created for that medium.

Video
Up until now I have presented my images online in a static form but one quite flexible method of showing them would be via video. This method would enable me to exert a great deal of control over things like how long the images are viewed for, the order they are presented in, and how I contextualise the images. The feedback from the first video I produced for the end of Unit 1 Mid term review proved this concept with good feedback. Moreover it would enable me to consider other factors such as sound (raised early on in the course and which also worked well in the first video) and whether this would add to any evocation. This option is also inexpensive as it can be shown online or in exhibition format on different sized projectors or screens.

Prints
I have funds to enable me to create printed and mounted images. Thus if I can think a little inventively I could create an exhibition submission that is self-contained and would work in multiple spaces – not just at the MA exhibition.

Moreover, I am creating a collection of printed materials as I now have images from Exhibitions held at Bank Street Arts, and the Interim and Pop up shows, so could continue to invest in this medium and exploit them by submitting to other venues for exhibition.

However this is the most costly form of presentation and if the images are created, printed and mounted they are then fixed to those standards and cannot be changed without remaking.

Book
One aspect that I have already thought about in terms of presentation is whether the images should be presented just as pictures in the book. Books express very specific and particular values that the other options I have looked at here do not. Both the method of physically exhibiting work and creating a video are time limited and so performance based. Viewing images online does not have that drawback but is, by its nature, virtual with no physicality to the experience.

A photobook addresses all these issues but can be costly as well as requiring new skills for its production. Moreover if I decided to produce a book would it be a book of images or a record of the exhibition? If it was the former I could produce it for the exhibition, but not if it was the latter.

Additionally, as I use Lightroom I could use its book module and produce a book using Blurb. But this would mean giving over some control by adopting and then adapting them for my own purposes.

Of course I could do all the above and that would create its own interesting issues about which are original and which are reproductions.

Other media
The physical nature of the exhibition means that I could use unusual production values to challenge viewers’ perceptions of disability, impairment and illness in new ways. For example, rather than producing digital images to hang on a wall I could think of novel ways of presenting them. This category will be where I place those thoughts and experiments.

Curation
The above processes will inevitably involve decisions about which images to present and in what order and how to present them. But holding off that process until now has been crucial because it is only now, with decisions about what the final product will look like that I feel ready to sort the images out to begin to construct the discourse around the specific products.

So I think I  need to explore all of these options in more detail.

About anomiepete

South Londoner struggling with life, art and photography.
This entry was posted in Final Products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Transitioning

  1. Pingback: Book: focus and production values | anomiepete

Leave a Reply

